How do I give limited admin rights? (Splashtop Remote Support, 750+ package only)

Follow

(Experimental feature - only available to Splashtop Remote Support teams of 750 computers or higher)

On a Splashtop Remote Support team, a user with admin role can remotely access and manage all computers by default.

Sometimes you may want a client to have admin role, but limit their access to only a subset of computers. This allows the client to do things like add computer, remove computer, invite user, etc., but only for the groups that you authorized.

Please see instructions below to enable and to use the feature.

Enable group-specific admin feature

This feature is only available to Splashtop Remote Support teams of 1,000 computers or higher.

Log into my.splashtop.com as the team owner. Navigate to Management > Settings. Check the box "Enable group-specific admin role."

0413a_global.png

Set a user as a group-specific admin

Navigate to Management > Users. Click on the gear icon next to the user whom you want to set as a group-specific admin. Click on "Change role."

0413b_menu.png

In the resulting dialog box:

  1. Click on the "Admin" radio button
  2. Check the "Set as group-specific admin" checkbox
  3. Select the checkboxes for whichever group(s) you want this user to manage

0413c_role.png

Another way to assign group-specific admins

Group-specific admins can also be assigned from the Grouping page.

Navigate to Management > Grouping. Click on the gear icon next to the group that you want to set an a admin for. Click on "Assign group admin."

In the resulting dialog box, you can choose which user(s) can manage this group.

0413d_group.png

What can a group-specific admin do

The group-specific admin can perform these functions only on the users and computers in the groups managed by him or her. The group-specific admin will not be able to see the group names, users, and computers in other groups.

  • Rename computer
  • Add/edit computer notes
  • Add/delete computers, including create deployment packages
  • Invite/enable/disable/delete users
  • Set access permissions
  • Clear authenticated devices

Notes

  • When an admin is assigned to be a group-specific admin, the management scope is reduced from the whole team to only specific group(s).
  • You can always see which users have been assigned group-specific admin rights by going to Management > Users. The role for such users is labeled as "Admin (groups)." Mouse over the label to see the list of groups managed by the user.
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments