How do I group my users and computers? (Splashtop Remote Support & SOS+ only)

Follow

Group your users and computers for easier management. Assign access permissions by user or by user group.

Get started by logging into my.splashtop.com and clicking on Grouping.

Notes:

General

Group computers for easier management. Your computers will then be organized by groups on your Splashtop Business app and the web console.

Group users for easier access permission control. You can set access permissions for an entire group of users. New users added to the group can inherit that group's access permission settings.

Create a group

Create groups by logging into my.splashtop.com and clicking on Grouping.

You can create 3 types of groups:

  1. User-only group
  2. Computer-only group
  3. User and computer group

A user-only group can only consist of users. Grouping users is useful for setting access permissions for multiple users at a time. It is also useful for automatically applying access permissions to a new user.

A computer-only group can only consist of computers. Grouping computers helps to organize a large computer list, for easier navigation. It can also make assigning access permissions easier. You can grant user access to a whole group of computers.

A user and computer group is a special group that is a shortcut for group-based access control. You can add both users and computers to this group. By default, all users in this group can access all computers in this group.

Add users or computers to the group

From the grouping page, use the gear icon to the right of the group to add users or computers. Multiple users or computers can be added at a time.

From the computer list page, use the gear icon to the right of each computer to assign that computer to a group, one computer at a time.

When inviting a user, you can optionally choose a user group. Upon accepting the invitation, the user will automatically be placed in that group and inherit the group's access permissions.

Edit group

From the grouping page, use the gear icon to the right of the group to edit the group properties. You can rename the group. You can also change a user-only group or computer-only group to a "user and computer" group.

Set access permissions

Access permissions are set on the Users page, under Management > Users.

You can set access permissions for a single user or a group of users.

Click on the gear icon to the right of a user or user group and choose "Access Permission."

You can then select any combination of computers and computer groups to be accessible by that user or user group.

Have more questions? Submit a request