Service Desk console and general usage

Follow

Service Desk provides not only a new interface for users to monitor and manage attended sessions but also an opportunity to enhance user’s workflow. You don’t need to wait for a new 9-digit code generated from the end users' side each time when starting an attended remote connection.

Requirements

  • Splashtop Enterprise with technician licenses 

  • Business app version 3.4.8.4 or newer

  • For a user account to be able to use the feature, he/she must have the attended access feature available to him/her, being a technician role for example.

How to enter Service Desk console:

You can enter Service Desk console from either the web console(my.splashtop.com/my.splashtop.eu) or the business app.

From web console:
Logging the web console(my.splashtop.com/my.splashtop.eu), you can find Service Desk as a separate tab.

mceclip0_en-us.png

From Business app:
You can click the Service Desk Console button or go to the Service Desk tab

  • Windows users:
    mceclip1_en-us.png
    mceclip2_en-us.png
  • Mac users:
    mceclip3_en-us.pngmceclip4_en-us.png

 

On Service Desk console:

When you enter Service Desk, you will find Home and Channel on the left

mceclip5_en-us.png


Home

On Home, you can find all the attended sessions that are assigned to you. 


Channel

In Service Desk, “Channel” is similar to the concept of group/grouping in users or computers.


Session

You can monitor and the manage the support sessions in Session.

To create a new session
you can create new support sessions in the channel by clicking “New Session“ and share the link with the end user.

mceclip6_en-us.png

 

Choose between sharing an invitation link or 6 digit PIN code. (6 digit PIN only supports connection to iOS devices at the time. Windows, Mac and Android coming soon!)

servicedesk_link_en-us.PNGservicedesk_pincode_en-us.PNG

With the link, end user can download the app and launch it.

servicedesk_download_en-us.PNG

 

mceclip9_en-us.png

Once the end user launches the support app, the status of the session will change from “Waiting“ to “Active“

mceclip10_en-us.png

mceclip11_en-us.png

When the session is active, technician can request permission to connect by clicking “Start Remote Session“

mceclip12_en-us.png

mceclip13_en-us.png


After the technician requests for permission, the end user would see the prompt as follows to reject or grant permission.

mceclip14_en-us.png

The following will show on the end user’s side if he/she grants the permission.

mceclip15_en-us.png

If the user grants the permission, the “Start Remote Session“ icon will change frommceclip16_en-us.png

tomceclip17_en-us.png, which means the technician can connect to the user.

Now, technician can start to connect by clicking “Start Remote Session.“

mceclip18_en-us.png


Actions

In addition to “Start Remote Session“, you can also take the following actions.

  • Transfer:  transfer the session to another assignee or another channel

mceclip19_en-us.png
  • Assign Technician: assign or re-assign a technician to the support session.
  • Transfer: transfer the session to another assignee or another channel

  • Invite Other Technicians: Invite up to 2 other technicians to the support session (max total 3 techs)
  • Copy Session Link / Show PIN Code

  • Release: release the session from the assigned technician
  • Close: close the session
  • Delete: delete the session from the channel

servicedesk_sessionOptions_en-us.PNG

 

Session Status

mceclip21_en-us.png

  • Waiting: The status will be “Waiting“ for the user to download and run the Service Desk support app from the unique link right after a new session link has been generated.

  • Active: The Service Desk support app has been started on the end user's computer; this session has a technician assigned, and the technician is ready to request permission to connect. 

  • In queue: The session has been released and it's waiting for a technician to take the session. 

  • Expired: The session exceeded the Session Expiration time that was preset from the Channel settings.  

  • Closed: The technician has manually closed the session. No further connection is possible. To connect again, generating a new session is required. 

 

0 out of 0 found this helpful